The 1980s Supermarket – Channel 5

Standard

  I’d completely forgotten about Harvest Crunch bars!   I used to have one every day.  The idea was that I wouldn’t be fat because I was eating healthy “crunch” bars instead of chocolate biscuits … er, but it didn’t work.   And those ’80s food and drink adverts!   The annoying cartoon girl singing “I want a Trio and I want one now”.  And “Um Bongo, Um Bongo, they drink it in the Congo”, which would cause the woke brigade to have apoplexy if it were made now.

It’s funny how things change.   As the programme pointed out, before the ’80s, buying ready made food was something that only better-off people could afford to do.   Now, it’s gone the other way, and there’s quite a bit of snobbery about buying convenience foods – which I do all the time, because I am a useless cook and I haven’t got the time to cook things from scratch anyway.   I don’t buy supermarket sandwiches, though.  The cost of supermarket sandwiches for a week, never mind a year, versus making your own, is seriously horrendous.

It’s very weird when programmes about the ’80s appear on TV, as if “my” decade were some sort of historical period.  Which obviously it isn’t.   But it was a fun bit of nostalgia!

Hello! Please let me know what you think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.